Posted in <3

血まみれのノート

18700315_10158887291430085_1663027910990137325_nThe road to fluency is never easy.  Just look at how much blood I lost trying to learn kanji. (Ok, I am kidding – I spilled ink all over my notes). But its a good image of how hard it is to study Japanese, but I do it anyway, because I am a masochist? NO. Because I LOVE IT.

I love Japanese. I love the language and how it sounds and even if it does take a great deal of effort to learn. I will definitely reach my goal of fluency within this year or the next.

I have been listening to FLUENT FOREVER. (Yes, Audiobooking) by Gabriel Wyner. It is a really good and helpful book for those who want to learn a language. His tips are solid and are based off experience – and as a frustrated learner of languages, I find his style and his method enlightening.  Especially since I have done many of the things he has done and have failed dramatically.

He was right in saying that in Learning a Language, one must have the main key INTEREST.  If you’re not interested, no matter what you do, nothing will happen if you are not interested. You have to have a personal connection to the language you are learning. You must LOVE the language or it will only be something that will only remain in your temporary memory. If you Love something it will be etched in you forever.

A language learning process that you love should not be so painful. It should be fun. It should be something you get excited about. It should be something you look forward to even if it is repetetive kanji writing, doing Anki, or creating word lists. I should love it even if GRAMMAR kicks me in the butt, or if I couldn’t do particles. One day, I will definitely wake up and all the effort that I did in drilling all that grammar in will pay off and I will speak natural Japanese.

I can read those books easily. I can read the Japanese newspaper. I can be almost Japanese. Until then, I will continue with the blood sweat and tears til I get there and enjoy every step of the way.

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

