Posted in 2014, Artistic, Revelations

Books, Brushes and Brews

And we know that all things work together for good for all those who love HIM.
Romans 8:28

wpid-20140328-114100.jpgFriday Night, I was supposed to help my sister set up for our assigned booth at the WORKING UNDER PRESSURE Singles Event for CCF Imus. I didn’t expect much — you know it was a coffee booth. All I knew was that I was going to be manning the place, refilling the coffee stuff as needed and entertaining caffeine-needing peeps. There wasn’t much thrill to it- and in fact, I was looking to get out of it until I saw the location.

There were couches, tables and it looked like a living room was moved to the venue. Cute. Then one of the leaders told us that we have to have some kind of gimmick and that there was a prize for best booth. Seeing that my sister was all about this, the wheels in my head turned. I first suggested to put my art on the walls. Then it became kind of this artsy coffee place. And as we thought about it more, we decided that I should do live painting on the premises.

Alright.

But then again, that wasn’t enough. Painting class would mean that I share my precious materials to people … and I was being a little apprehensive about that. And then I remembered I just learned Coffee painting from Mr. Jimmy Tablante. God probably did that on purpose. It was probably part of his plan for me to practice before I went into my workshop. So I told my sister, we should do Coffee Painting and she agreed.

Read more below if you want to see the booth and know what blessed me!

That’s where our booth name came to be. We have books to read, Brushes to paint with and Coffee to brew, which spells RELAXATION for the Pressured Singles. We wanted a cozy and relaxing place for people to relax, talk, paint and just smell the coffee.

1969393_10154001171320085_1562004390_n

 

I think we did a good job with it right? It looks inviting! At least the couches, and I was really nervous if people will come and join me in coffee painting. I mean, I’ve never really taught a class before. I have taught children and that was easy and fun , I mean just put the paint pots in front of them and watch them go! But, seriously, teaching pressurized adults and making them think that PAINTING is fun may not be too easy– or so I thought.

1979584_10154001170775085_1632275883_nI was surprised and encouraged at the rush of people coming to try out COFFEE PAINTING  it seemed that it got featured on TV and people wanted to try it. ( I don’t watch TV so I don’t know really!)  I was blessed by people coming to try out this new thing. I didn’t even get to paint my portrait that I was working on until they settled down to the talk.  It was fun talking to people, encouraging to hear that people actually appreciate the talent that God has given me and  I was really blessed to meet people who took an interest — or even just tried painting.

Here are some of the pictures of my “students” and the people who taught me that talking to others isn’t such a bad thing after all.

 


10003936_10154001169720085_1329161229_n
1002649_10154001170150085_1296825456_n
1234196_10154001168905085_119580497_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some of the things they have made. I mean there are real raw talent in CCF singles!

1619108_297242930427748_419725493_n1897836_10154001169300085_1102198137_n

Jollibbee even came to look at them! COOL!!!

I was looking for a way to share my art and serve GOD and He gave me the perfect chance to do so. I am looking forward to the next — with KIDS this time and MOMS. I hope that that Workshop I am doing pushes through.

Thanks to those who relaxed, painted with me and tried this art! YOU GUYS ROCK. TO GOD BE ALL THE GLORY.

Also, if interested in my services as an artist, illustrator or kids art tutor: you can email me at littlemissmarikit@live.com

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

