Posted in 52 Day Challenge, deep thoughts, Devotional, Revelations

[52 Day Challenge] Day 6: Now not Later

masked_procrastinator  It was so hot today. Seriously, you can crack an egg on the concrete and you’d have a perfect sunny side up. It’s crazy. I didn’t want to move from my bed where the fan is on full blast and I had ice cold water by my side. The sun that was beating me from the window was unbearable and even if I just took a shower, the sweat came pouring down my head, neck and arms – It was insane.

Its days like these that make me feel like doing nothing, except stay cool. Even walking or sitting up, feels like a chore and I almost did not get up to write this blog today. But I forced myself off my bed and even as I sat down on to write this blog, I discovered myself doing other things: Checking Facebook, looking at pictures and researching things on the Internet with the excuse that I am looking for inspiration to write, since my brain doesn’t seem to want to cooperate with me today. In short, I wasn’t being productive at all.

Then, I realized that this had been my problem for a long time. I always procrastinate. I always make excuses for myself when I don’t do the things I am supposed to do at that minute. I always say, “It’s only a minute.” Then I discover, that the minute has turned to an hour and then 2 or three and I lose the ideas in my head.  I lose focus and often forget all about the urgent thing that I was supposed to do. I keep putting things off – until either I forget them, or I have to do them last minute and panic.

But our God doesn’t like that. I felt reproved when I read this verse:

“How long will you wait before you begin to take possession of the land that the lord, the God of your ancestors, has given you?” (Joshua 18:3)

How will I grab the blessing that the Lord has planned for me, if I keep on procrastinating? What if the opportunity that God has presented for me is there and I was too lazy, or I made excuses not to go there? What If I miss the opportunity to be blessed because I was putting it off too long? Then when the blessing is missed, I could only wish that I could have done it. Regret will follow but it is too late.

Though, in my defense, I love being busy. I make lists upon lists of things/ tasks that I need to finish and I get a little sense of fulfillment every time I

I realized that I need to be disciplined, focused and alert so I do not miss His voice calling me to bless someone or be blessed. I need to stop being lazy and start being productive so I can get the Lord’s blessing. God doesn’t want to give his blessing to sluggards and sloths that just ask and ask and does nothing to deserve it. The Lord loves to bless those who are willing to meet him halfway with their own effort.

In Hebrews 6:12  it is said that:

“We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.”

The Lord blesses the faithful and the patient. He wants us to live a busy, productive and fruitful life. There is no blessing for the bum. God loves people who work fruitfully, who keep themselves active.  Proverbs 20:13 reminds us this:

“Do not love sleep or you will grow poor; stay awake and you will have food to spare.”

If you do nothing, you will reap nothing. So, we must STOP THINKING AND START DOING.  Even if you’re not so sure, or if you’re uninspired, unmotivated, keep going because the Lord will bless you with inspiration and energy. DO IT NOW, NOT LATER.  The Lord has another blessing in store for you tomorrow so you have to claim this now.

 BE BUSY FOR THE LORD. BE PRODUCTIVE. STOP IDLING.  We should never be slackers because not only is it uncool to be, but it is unproductive and we’d be wasting time, energies and resources on things that don’t even matter. PUT YOUR ENERGIES TO WHERE IT MATTERS. BE DISCIPLINED. Then, HE will do the rest.

On another note, now that I have finished this entry. I feel blessed.

Glory to God.

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

