Posted in <3, 52 Day Challenge, deep thoughts, Devotional, Revelations

[52 Day Challenge] Day 5: What is your Life?

“What is your life?” (James 4:14b)

life-graffiti-coloring-page I have found the funniest, craziest, most creative answers when I asked this question to some friends who were online as I was pondering this question. So let me share some of my favorite answers and some of the answers I found while browsing about life on the Internet.

A friend of mine went Forrest Gump on me and said: “”Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get”

Another one said, “Life is like a hot bath. It feels good while you’re in it, but the longer you stay in, the more wrinkled you get.”

John Lennon said that : “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”

Another friend said that “Life is a gift you didn’t ask for.”

And my answer? “Life is a draft of your novel that will be published in Heaven. We get to edit and correct all the mistakes here now, add flair and flourish, while we can before we go into final print that is eternal life.”

A few said that Life is a battlefield, a game, a stage, and even an onion. There is no right or wrong answer with this question but what does the Bible tell us about life? In John 14:6 Jesus said that he is  THE WAY, THE TRUTH and THE LIFE. It means that our life is defined by how we accept Jesus’ reality in our lives. Our purpose is to find the way to God and that is through Jesus. So to sum it all up,

JESUS = LIFE

We have to accept the fact that without Him, we are nothing. That the purpose of our whole being is to find Him in our lives and do what he needs us to do. This is why it is important to be aware of the way we see our lives and how we define our lives. Because how we define our lives totally reveals your personality and what values you hold dear in your life.

In my definition of life, I see that I defined life as a novel – which reveals that I am an avid reader and writer. It also reveals that I am a person who makes a lot of mistakes and that I need correction and is a work in progress to get to the perfect me that God wants me to be. This definition also shows that I value writing in my life ( a talent that God has given me) and that creativity and freedom of expression is something that I hold of high value in my life.

It will not be easy, but at the very least, I am aware that I need Jesus to define my life. I am also glad that I am not doing this alone. I am glad that I am going through this with my family, N, my D-group sisters and friends who I can rely on when I reach a stumbling block in my path.

How about you, what is your life?

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

