Posted in deep thoughts, Devotional, Revelations

My Burning Bush

(Solo: Uncommon Devotional, Day 4. Learning How to Pay Attention)

In Exodus 3, The Lord revealed himself to Moses in a very unique way. While Moses was shepherding sheep, he found himself face to face with God through an image of the Burning Bush.  It must have been quite a sight because Moses couldn’t tear his eyes away from it. After he had PAID ATTENTION to the Lord, the Lord spoke to him and called him by name. It is in this beautiful chapter of the Holy Bible that Moses gets his MISSION from God.

After reading this, one of the things I prayed for was for God to reveal Himself to me in a fresh way. I expected God to answer me in such a way that it would catch my attention. I prayed for something so strong that I couldn’t take my eyes away from it. And I prayed that in that revelation that He would give me a Mission. Something that I need to do so I can direct my lost life to the right path. And it came, after our family prayed together when I opened my bible to 1 Timothy 4:11-16.

Command and teach these things. Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity. Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to exhortation, to teaching. Do not neglect the gift you have, which was given you by prophecy when the council of elders laid their hands on you. Practice these things, immerse yourself in them, so that all may see your progress. Keep a close watch on yourself and on the teaching. Persist in this, for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers.

I was so stricken by the words and I was so stunned that I had to read it a 2nd time. I knew it was for me. It was as if He was calling my name when I read it. I couldn’t believe it and read it again.  When that wasn’t enough, I read it on my own for a 3rd, 4th and 5th time. I couldn’t get enough of it. I couldn’t take my eyes off of it. This was the LORD telling me exactly what to do  IN MY FACE.   I didn’t have to decipher the meaning – the mission for me was simple and in plain sight. This was MY BURNING BUSH.

The Lord is calling me to:

  •  Command and Teach
  •  Be a good example / Role Model

And He even provided the HOW:

  • Not be afraid because I am Young
  • Devote myself/Equip myself in the study of the Word
  • Use my talents for HIS Glory
  • He needs me to Practice it Daily so it would become a habit and an integral part of my life
  • He also told me to persist and persevere so that He could use me to save other people.

Now, I believe that God is working His hand in my life. He is equipping me and I should, like Moses, take up this mission and do my very best in it.

How about you? Have you seen the BURNING BUSH in your life? What is your calling?

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

One thought on “My Burning Bush

Leave a Reply

