Posted in <3, I <3 ME, idiosyncrasies, ^_^ Happiness

Perfect Imperfection.

I read this blog today. It talked about being a perfectionist. It talked about how perfectionists lead such a stringent, risk-free, and how it can be a “debilitating way of life, preventing risk-taking and adventure. It can leave others around you walking on eggshells, fearing your feelings will get hurt.”

Being perfect is not all that cut out to be. Being perfect means you’re cookie cutter. There is nothing more to improve therefore, you are stuck there , stagnant with nothing more to challenge yourself with. If you are Little-miss- Perfection, then you have to live up to the standards. Society will expect you to be that all the time and you’d have to live your whole life trying to outdo yourself and living up to the high standards that you set for yourself.

However, I wouldn’t do that to myself. I pride myself in my imperfection. With my quirks and flaws and everything in between, I believe I make an more interesting human being. I like knowing that I can do better. That there is something out there that I can do. That I can risk looking stupid and it’s alright – it’s because I am human. I am imperfect and it’s definitely okay.

Perfectionists are boring. Theyre like robots. You can’t expect anything less from them. If you draw a picture of a perfect flower. It would be “nice” as it is expected to be. However, draw the same flower with a little flaw here and there. It becomes quirky, it suddenly has something of interest to see and it comes alive.

Everyone wants to work towards being perfect. I do too, but I understand that my perfection has something to do with being imperfect, and I love myself Just the way I am.

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

