Posted in Fashionista, Healthy and Beautiful

Voluptuous.

Marilyn-Monroe

Curvy is the new sexy. I don’t think that being a Size 6 is a sin nor is it ugly. Especially if it’s all healthy weight. After all, we can’t all be Size 0, right?

Media projects that women should be at least a Size 2 to be called beautiful. It’s common knowledge. A model must be Size 2 to fit into all the sample clothing a designer would make. I understand that it must be economics – it is actually more cost efficient to make a size 2 dress ( takes up less material) than a Size 4. But it doesn’t guarantee you a healthy looking model.

Most women in the Philippines are about 5” to 5’4” and weighs between 120-150 lbs. Most of us Filipinas don’t have a Size 0 figure and to have one means a lot of discipline and sacrifice. I fear that it is near impossible with the carbo loaded rice diet that we Filipinas need to have. 

Most women, including myself, all are trying so hard to loose a pound or two off our naturally beautiful bodies. The pressure to look thinner, leaner and sexier is high right now with the media promoting that Rail thin is beautiful and the curvy, proportionate woman is not. Not a lot of women stop to look at themselves  in the mirror and check  their natural size – which most of the time looks best on them, rather than starving themselves to fit into a size that isn’t theirs to begin with.

my sister and me

I am not born thin. I have a bigger stature than my sister who up to now (even after having a kid) still has a size 26 waistline. I tried so many diets but I could not go back to my teenage/college day figure. No matter how much I starve myself, I know that it won’t happen. I accepted the fact that I am bigger, curvier and yet sexy. After all, can’t be all ramp model thin, but that doesn’t mean that we are not beautiful.

I am a size 6 , with a 28 inch waistline. I eat. I am healthy and my boyfriend prefers me this way.( In fact, most guys prefer healthy looking women to “walking toothpicks” ). I love being big, cuddly and beautiful. I love my body. I am confident about what I look ( though, I would like to trim my tummy a little for health and beauty reasons) I look reasonably good for my size.

I believe that  most of the most beautiful women in the world are Plus Sized.  Take for example, did you know that  Marilyn Monroe  was actually a size 16 and not a size 12? Take that, little miss i-need-a-sandwich!

Need more examples? Check out this post and some of the pictures below and tell me who is not yummy?

Crystal RennBea Alonzo

Whitney Thompson Angelica Panganiban

Love your body. Love yourself. 🙂 and once in a while, it’s alright to take a break and have a Kit-kat!

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

4 thoughts on “Voluptuous.

Leave a Reply

