Posted in idiosyncrasies

Props to the Parentals.

I used to hate spending time with my parents. But now, I spend time with them at every spare hour that I can get. Maybe when I was growing up, I thought that they were spoilsports and that they would kill my fun. I may sound cliche and so old, but they were right.

They were right to stop me from doing silly things when I was younger. They were right for forbidding me to hang out with the “cool” crowd. They were right to be strict with me.

Because of that, I grew up to be a controlled, proper and quite a good adult. I am proud that I wasn’t part of the “cool kids” who had babies before they were married and now in total shambles without jobs or careers, never finished college and are up to their eyeballs in debt. I am proud that I haven’t done drugs, gone crazy or that I haven’t been convicted of a felony. I am proud that I have a proper job (even if I am underpaid and over worked) and soon will have a better position in life.

Though I partially rebelled before. I used to run away and think that they were too strict. Now I am glad. Because now, I could be proud of them and say that  I can be a good adult.

It’s good to know that I can still thank them for it. And even now that I am older, I think it would be nice if they can still guide me.

because who knows you more than they who brought you into this world.

So to Mama and Papa, thanks. I love you.

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

One thought on “Props to the Parentals.

  1. that’s one way of learning, hanging out with them. their wisdom rubs off on you, which will be vital for the future. by the time they leave you (sooner or later we cannot tell) you won’t have regrets that you have neglected them, somewhere along those lines.we are experiencing almost the same thing; i stick by mom’s side too often that there was a time that i am already seeing our similarities when i look at the mirror. keep it up, sis.

Leave a Reply

