Posted in <3, because i'm a girl, idiosyncrasies

A Sweet, Colorful and Fruity Valentine

I had an unusual Valentine. A friend of mine brought me Coconuts, bushels of Caimito (star apple) and Chico.  It was unique and it definitely left an impression on me. My “date” hacked with his machete fresh coconut juice which we enjoyed with Ice and well.. a bit of gin for those of us who wanted to drink at home with my sister and her boyfriend.

It was a new experience for me.  For most of my Valentines were spent at home, or with someone I barely liked on a very “cliche” date.  I decided that if no one asks me out on Valentine’s day, I would spend it at home with a secret bottle of vino and my J-dramas ( preferably a bloody medical drama or a bittersweet romance).

But since my friend came, my valentines became more fun. It wasn’t anything romantic at all. It was spent with the company of people who I liked, loved and who loves me and likes me back as friends and family. We had a good time talking, drinking juice and having a good laugh.  I must be getting old, I prefer these kind of things now rather than a full blown date. 🙂 It gave us a chance to talk in a more free atmosphere, away from the constrained restaurants, the crowds the etiquette needed for a date. It was more natural, and great for making good friends.

Another thing that made me smile was getting this letter from my NO BORDER sister in Baguio City, Idda.  Her letter made me feel so appreciated and loved that I cried. Hydee, I love you so much. I love our NO BORDER sisterhood and I love Sarah and Resha too.

I appreciate the love that we share. So sisterly love is also celebrated in this Valentine’s day. Thank you for being my special Valentine.

To celebrate with family , I bought a scrumptious cake for my mother (Bread Talk’s boston creme),   which we all enjoyed to the fullest.  It was sweet and chocolatey and perfect. I got my baby girl niece balloons and generally had a good dinner together.

simple things like these make me happy. It is not the presents or the chocolates or flowers that I want.

Flowers wilt, Choco makes you fat but love. Love always wins.

Love of Family. Love of friends. Love of self . Love of life. I believe that Valentine’s is the celebration of Love. LOVE that does make the world go round.

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

