Posted in idiosyncrasies

[Word 100 Challenge] 006. Mabudachi (Best Friend)

Mabudachi means best friend or bosom friend in Japanese. I have a lot of of friends, but real friends are a dime a dozen. There are only a handful whom I could really call my mabudachi.

I had a reunion with a few friends today. These are friends I met through our common love for Japanese Pop music. Hydee was going to start working in Baguio so we decided to meet up and spend the day together for her going away get-together. It was kind of sad, at the same time exciting for all of us since this was the first time that NO BORDER (as we call our group)  would be complete.

In all honesty, I don’t know how this friendship happened. For a long time, we called each other marikit, resha_ueda, nekoism and soeursierra (our livejounal nicknames). We only used to fangirl together and only talk about topics related to Johnny’s Entertainment. We don’t see each other that often – in fact, we don’t see each other at all. Up until we decided to meet and start being more than just online friends.

Pretty soon, we were constantly calling, texting and even seeing each other. The names have changed to Maia, Mia, Resha and Hydee. We started telling each other things that really matter – problems, success stories, dreams and even fantasies. Our friendship revolved around that – just talking and listening to each other. We don’t have to see each other everyday, but by just being there we knew that this was more than just acquaintances.

They have been there through all my joys and sorrows, heartaches, heartbreaks, fangirling moments, failures and successes. For years, they have been in the background cheering me on. I have been there too, keeping in touch though we do not see each other often.  I always want to know what is up with them,to me that’s important.

That is what sets them apart from my other so-called friends. They are already part of my system. They are important to me.

Aside from them, I also talked to another friend, Flare in YM today. She has been a friend of mine since I was in kinder. She mentioned that we have been friends for 25 years. WOW! Really?I didn’t realize that until she said it. She is also one of my mabudachi. She is also one person who i don’t have to see often to know that she’s just there.

I am meeting up with another set of friends on Saturday. 🙂 Mabudachi again? Maybe…

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

One thought on “[Word 100 Challenge] 006. Mabudachi (Best Friend)

Leave a Reply

