Posted in <3, idiosyncrasies, ^_^ Happiness

[Word 100 Challenge] 002. Houdou (Footpath)

lk_footpath Hodou means Footpath or a narrow walkway for people who are on foot. Footpaths serve as roads, as guides to direct people to where they are supposed to go to. It provides a safe way to our destination even in the deepest of forests. That is the most direct, straightforward meaning I could think of. Footpaths could be the real concrete/wooden or dirt paths on the ground or, it could mean something else.

When I see footpaths, I feel a sense of security and peace. I have an idea where I am going to. I am not lost. I know my way.No matter how scary my surroundings are, just as long as I am on that footpath, I would be alright.  I would feel confident that I can make it out of there.  Just because, I know where I am going. I know what I am doing or where I am stepping to even when it is dark.

Take that away and I would feel unsecure. I would fidget and have panic attacks. I would look around with apprehension. I wouldn’t know where I am going. I would be uneasy and would be alarmed. If I am in a dark forest or if it is nighttime, I would be feeling fearful for my life. I would feel lost.  I would start to cry and stop where I am at because I fear for my life because I have nothing to serve as my guide.

Footpaths could be straight and narrow. It could be long and rough. It could be winded. It could confusing and could have many forks. Footpaths is just like life and the way we want to lead our own life. Our footpath would depend on how we see our life and where we are going.

My footpath is a dirt path in the woods, there were a lot of forks in the road, there were a lot of detours yet they all led back to the main road. I have stumbled in the dark in treading my road. I have enjoyed long sunny walks under the sun. I have even stopped many times and almost have given up. I have stumbled along this path and have had many experiences in this road. Everything I experienced made me stronger, wiser and more confident. There are many times that this path has tired me out yet I tread on. Because what choice do I have but to move forward?

Its imagery  reminds me of this song from N*SYNC. It’s an unknown song of theirs but I feel that this is one of their better songs. It was sung as part of the soundtrack of the movie Willows. I have highlighted several parts of the song that I feel appeals most to this This song describes my path and the journey I have had.

HERE and NOW

N’SYNC

Here and now
Is the way I live
Unafraid of what life gives
And there’ve been times in my life
I couldn’t see the difference
In pain, or in joy
Or in sun, or in rain
It just seemed the same
But I’m only human
Rendered by ambition
But I’m going to make it count

Here and now
Is the way I live
With an open heart and mind

Here and now
So many intentions
In life I could have followed
But one of those paths
must lead to eternal love

Here and now
Is the way I live
Unafraid of what life gives
Respect things I don’t understand
All Here and now

So many intentions
In life I could have followed
But one of those paths
must lead to eternal
love
Here and now

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

