Posted in deep thoughts, idiosyncrasies

Single White Rose

Sometimes I forget how short life is. There are times when I take life for granted, thinking that there will still be tomorrow to see them, thank them or be sorry. But what happens if there is none?

I just came from my great aunt’s funeral. I wasn’t very close to her but I really felt the sorrow earlier. I even shed a tear. Maybe I cried because I was touched by the tears of my Grandfather (her brother). Maybe I cried because everyone was.  I don’t know.

But as I was walking at 1:35pm in the heat of the mid-day sun to bring her to her final resting place, it hit me. I never really knew her. Sad. All I know was that she was my great aunt.

How many funerals have I been to where I barely know the person? How many of them were people who I had the chance to get to know but ignored completely? How many of them were supposed to be close to me? maybe I should stop with this attitude and go on to be closer to people.

They say the single white rose, says “I’m sorry…” Well.. I am sorry… I hope Great Aunt is happy in paradise.

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

2 thoughts on “Single White Rose

  1. It’s true that we often don’t realize the value of people until they’re gone. We lead such busy lives and the world today is just so fast-paced that real conversations are a dying art. I’m sure your Great Aunt was a wonderful person and perhaps you could ask family members about her.

Leave a Reply

