Posted in dear god, hope you got my letter, deep thoughts, idiosyncrasies, the office

The Worst Monday ever

Everyone knows how much I abhorr Mondays. Today is probably the worst monday I have had in a long long long while.  First off, I felt really sick. The AC was right in front of me and I was freezing my butt off. It was sad because I could not do anything about it. So I froze.

Next it was The AUDIT.

The silence is deafening. I hear nothing but printers, the tapping of the keyboard, and even the phones were deathly silent. It was like I walked into the twilight zone where all my staff had become working zombies and I was the only human in the office.  It was an office where desks were clean and almost paperless. I suddenly miss the noise. I miss the disarray. I miss the chaos. I miss the challenge of trying to work while annoying novelty songs played from the sound system in DJ’s cubicle. I miss singing to 96.3 W-Rock songs from Ms. N’s. I miss playing J-Pop songs and annoying the crap out of Lou. I even miss the people waiting in the waiting room looking like human sardines waiting for their names to be called.

But since it was Audit day, everything went from insane to a fake, kind of airbrushed type sanity today. It seems that the office wanted to impress – on appearances, I don’t see any difference. But at least, they cleaned up some of the paperwork.

I guess, it’s useless. This company has built its culture around old dinosaurs that reject any kind of change. I am thinking we are stuck like this until a miracle or a meteor comes and kills all of them off. I am not expecting any change in procedure or culture. It’s like talking to a rock, it won’t budge.

Third, One of my closest friends at work just went POOF! She just up and left. She suddenly decirde she was tired of it and just went. No goodbyes, no warning, no nothing.  She didn’t even give us a clue or tell anyone. So imagine my shock when she texted me that she was leaving. YES, TEXTED.  She didn’t even make an effort to CALL. Now, as a human being, I was offended. I was also concerned and I went crazy with madness.

Maybe it’s because I cared too much. Maybe, I should distance myself so I don’t get hurt. I treated her like a sister and a friend and she did this. Though I do understand what things she is going through, What use are we as friends if she doesn’t share the load?

I was hurt. Maybe that is why I am so angry. I feel like I was betrayed. I honestly felt that I was not in the loop. I thought, …”I thought we were friends…” Well, apparently NOT.

There are days that I want to do over. There are days that I just want to end. This one is one of those days. Glad this Monday is over… Hello, Tuesday please be nice to me.

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

