Posted in dear god, hope you got my letter, idiosyncrasies

the popularity vote

I have to be honest. I am disgusted and infuriated as I watch polls rise. I see that still the man in yellow is rising.  I just want to scream. This is the same with every other thinking Filipino in the country.

But, I guess they don’t think. They vote for whoever is popular (even if he is incapable). They vote for the person who they think will bring the Aquino Magic back to the palace. His parents are dead. He is not Cory and He is not Ninoy. I see that they vote celebrities, trapos and other people who made this election what it is – a popularity contest.

I don’t know what to say anymore. People should be tired of this. Hailing the most popular doesn’t necessarily mean that they hailed the right person.

I guess the Philippines is not ready for a mature government. Most Filipinos still voted for the most popular, celebrities or those that they can sympathize with.  I still do not know what these Filipinos are thinking – if they think at all.

But at the very least, I could say that I voted for someone who thinks. I still believe in him. I still know that he could do a better job.

I will give this person the benefit of the doubt, but I will not call him my president.  MY PRESIDENT IS IN GREEN not in YELLOW. I will be watching him very carefully.

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

