Posted in The Old Life

Jasmine had it better

If this is what a princess’ life is all about, I WANT OUT. I really do not want the life of someone who is TRAPPED, LOCKED DOWN, SHACKLED and  TIED.  It’s too fucking annoying to tell you what is going on with me right now. All I know is that, I just hate the pressure of always being perfect. I hate the pressure of always being watched. I hate the pressure of being there, but you cannot do anything as you please because you have to keep up with the rules of society, good conduct, etiquette and other things.

I mean, people would love to be in my shoes. But the pressures of this kind of life is nothing that anyone would want. That is why Jasmine escaped… I understand her. Only, I dont have an Alladin to take me on a magic carpet ride. I wish I had one. It would really be helpful at this moment. Really it would.

Though of course, Alladin is a riff raff and street rat. But I really don’t buy that. People should be free to love whoever they choose. Whoever they want to love. Why are there borders? Why cant a princess marry a pauper? Why cant we be free like other folk? Why? Why? WHY?!

Too many questions I need answers to. Too many things that a princess can’t do, too many times that tears have fallen because I am not free to love as I please, because I am not free to do as I do, because I am simply NOT free.

Happy as I am about my life right now, I have to keep remembering that this life that I lead is full of rules, full of restrictions. I can only be free in my dreams, in my mind, and in my thoughts.

And frankly, Jasmine had it better than me… She had Aladdin. She was free to love and she escaped. PLUS, she had a genie who can make everything come true. 

I envy Jasmine. I envy her life

Author:

A 30 something fangirl, writer, artist and dreamer, a princess by day and ninja by night who believes in magic, true love and wants to change the world one brush stroke at a time. Marikit is a self-taught artist learning more about art and the world around her.

Leave a Reply

